National Poetry Day – Pupil Poem!

British red post box, isolated on a white backgroundOn National Poetry Day this year, 2D undertook some activities in relation to the Scottish Poetry Library’s poem postcards.

Below is a poem written by Elena, in which she imagines what it would feel like to be a pillar-box, filling up with all sorts of different messages (this year’s NPD theme) only to be emptied at the end of the day.

Elena’s fantastic poem is a response to Meg Bateman’s poem ‘The Pillar-box’ which you can read by clicking here.

The Pillar Box – by Elena T

Softly, gently,

They drop one by one.

Letter by letter,

Word by word,

Day by day they come.

 

I hoard them all,

In my red painted frame.

I keep them dry,

I hold them safe,

Ready for reclaim.

 

First come the love letters,

Packed with words of love and longing.

They were written at dawn,

At the start of the day,

For then it can seem less daunting.

 

The business letters:

Bills and complaints and queries.

On bright white paper,

With stark black font,

The first, perhaps, of a long and tedious series.

 

Postcards of holidays,

From far away places.

They tell of fun,

And of games,

Of night time walks and sunny beach races.

 

And, of course,

For every happy there must come a sad.

The letters that didn’t make it,

The letters been sent back,

‘Return to Sender’ stamped by the young post lad.

 

Commiserations are the worst,

They make me want to groan.

It is hard,

It always is,

To say goodbye to one whom we have known.

 

Each letter that comes,

I will read and I will think.

Some are happy,

Some are sad,

But in each journey I am just a link.

 

The postman arrives,

At 4 O’clock each day.

He takes the letters,

In his bright red van,

To each destination, far away.

 

And thus I am left empty,

To wave goodbye to the sun’s last ray.

I will wait,

Until tomorrow,

Before I hold the letters of another day.

